Join Our Campaign


Upton/Inhofe Anti-EPA Bill to be Introduced Today

03 Mar 2011  |   Damien Shirley

Today, several Congressional Republicans will introduce a long-discussed bill to permanently block the EPA from addressing dangerous carbon pollution.

The bill is slated to be introduced by Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI) and Rep. Ed Whitfield (R-KY) in the House and Sen. Jim Inhofe (R-OK) in the Senate. Rep. Upton is the chair of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, Rep. Whitfield is the chair of the House Subcommittee on Energy and Power and Sen. Inhofe is the ranking member of the Senate Environment and Public Works committee.

The legislation would permanently strip the EPA of its authority to set limits on greenhouse gas emissions from stationary sources, a move which polling shows would be unpopular with the American people.

Democratic Reps. Collin Peterson (D-MN) and Nick Rahall (D-WV) have announced that they will support the bill.

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software