Join Our Campaign


LCVAF Names Next 7 "Dirty Dozen" Members

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Chuck Porcari, (202) 785-8683 June 13, 2006  
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Chuck Porcari, (202) 785-8683
June 13, 2006


WASHINGTON – Reflecting America’s disgust with members of Congress cozying up to Big Oil while energy prices soar and simple solutions go untried, the League of Conservation Voters today unveiled the next seven members of its 2006 “Dirty Dozen.”


Included in this group, which the LCV Action Fund is calling the “Oil Slick Seven,” are Senators Rick Santorum (PA), Conrad Burns (MT), and Jim Talent (MO) and Representatives Richard Pombo (CA), Katherine Harris (FL), Heather Wilson (NM), and Bob Ney (OH). LCV is currently or will be in the near future actively campaigning to defeat all of these Members of Congress in the 2006 elections.


“The key  purpose of this report is to shine a spotlight on Members of Congress who have consistently sided with the energy industry and against the interests of those they are elected to represent,” said LCV President Gene Karpinski. “Each of these seven voted for the disastrous, backward-looking energy bill, which  gave billions of dollars in taxpayer subsidies to oil companies at a time of record breaking profits. All voted to drill in the Arctic Refuge and, with the exception of Rep. Harris, all voted against sensible clean energy solutions such as increased fuel economy standards for cars and trucks.


The “Oil Slick Seven” join former Rep. Tom DeLay (TX) and Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX) on the 2006 “Dirty Dozen,” with the remaining slots to be filled in the coming months said LCV Senior Vice President for Political Affairs Tony Massaro.


“Today, the LCV Action Fund is actively engaged in efforts to defeat three of these seven and the others can expect to hear from us soon,” Massaro said. “LCV is proud of its record in defeating members of its ‘Dirty Dozen,’ and we expect to build on that record this year.”


Since 1996, 51 percent of candidates named to the “Dirty Dozen” have subsequently been voted out of office.


“It’s unfortunate that at a time when we need more leadership and accountability on energy issues, many more Members of Congress could have been on this list. With that in mind, these seven are the worst offenders,” said Karpinski.    


To read the full report, click here.


To view the LCV 2005 National Environmental Scorecard, visit


- 30 –


Paid for by the League of Conservation Voters,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.


Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software