Join Our Campaign


LCV on President Obama Designating Five National Monuments

Contact: Jeff Gohringer, (202) 454-4573 or

March 25, 2013  

WASHINGTON, DC – League of Conservation Voters (LCV) President Gene Karpinski released this statement ahead of President Obama designating five new national monuments later today, including the Río Grande del Norte National Monument in New Mexico, First State National Monument in Delaware and Pennsylvania, Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Monument in Maryland, Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers National Monument in Ohio, and San Juan Islands National Monument in Washington State: 

“President Obama’s strong leadership today will protect some truly remarkable places for generations to come. The President’s designation of these five national monuments is a reflection of the strong local support for conservation efforts that grow our economy. This is a solid capstone to Secretary Salazar’s conservation record, and we’ll continue working with President Obama to protect this country’s most cherished landscapes.”


Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software