Join Our Campaign


LCV Thanks Chairmen Waxman, Markey and the 33 Members of the Energy and Commerce Committee Who Voted to Move America Forward

Contact: Joshua McNeil, (202) 785-8683 or May 21, 2009  

“Today, the members of the Energy and Commerce Committee cast the most important committee vote they have ever taken on the environment.  That’s why the League of Conservation Voters and its allies invested more resources in support of this bill than on any committee vote in history.  

“That effort paid off.  Today, a bipartisan group of 33 of those Members made the right choice for America’s future, taking an unprecedented step forward in the effort to create millions of jobs, improve our national security and protect our planet with a clean, safe, renewable energy future.

“LCV thanks the representatives who voted to pass the American Clean Energy and Security Act out of committee.  In particular, Chairmen Henry Waxman and Ed Markey deserve tremendous credit for introducing and shepherding this historic bill. LCV will continue working to strengthen and pass this bill until President Obama signs it into law.”

Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software