Join Our Campaign


LCVAF Names Rep. J.D. Hayworth to 2006 "Dirty Dozen" List

Contact: Kristin Lee or Chuck Porcari, (202) 785-8683 or September 21, 2006  

WASHINGTON, DC – The League of Conservation Voters (LCV), the independent political voice for the environment, today named Representative J.D. Hayworth of Arizona to its 2006 “Dirty Dozen” list. 


“Representative J.D. Hayworth apparently believes that oil companies already making record profits are in need of a tax break, instead of investing those resources in putting America on the right path towards a clean energy future.  Rep. Hayworth has consistently voted against practical energy solutions, such as requiring new cars to go further on a gallon of gas.  Like his colleague Rep. Tom Delay, Rep. Hayworth is clearly out of touch with his constituents and the American public, who want leaders in Congress to actively seek solutions to America's energy challenges, not make them worse,” LCV President Gene Karpinski said.


Rep. Hayworth holds a lifetime LCV score 8%.  He voted for the 2005 energy bill – one of the worst pieces of anti-environmental legislation in decades – which did not help put America on a clear path toward renewable energy sources, such as wind and solar.  Rep. Hayworth also voted to shield manufacturers of the toxic gasoline additive MTBE from lawsuits for contaminating drinking water in local communities.  He is clearly a friend of Big Oil, and they have rewarded him in return: Rep. Hayworth has taken over $160,000 from the oil and gas industry.   


In addition to Rep. Hayworth, LCV today also added the following members to the Dirty Dozen: Senator George Allen (VA), Rep. Dan Boren (OK) and Rep. Deborah Pryce (OH).  


Having already selected the first 10 members of the group, including one selected in LCV’s first-ever online poll for the “Dirty Dozen,” the newest members join Senators Conrad Burns (MT), Rick Santorum (PA), Jim Talent (MO), and Representatives Henry Cuellar (TX), Katherine Harris (FL), Richard Pombo (CA), Charles Taylor (NC) and Heather Wilson (NM) on the 2006 Dirty Dozen list.  Representatives Tom Delay (TX) and Bob Ney (OH) were placed in a separate category following their respective decisions not to seek re-election.


Over the last decade, LCV’s “Dirty Dozen” list has held elected officials accountable for their votes and actions by highlighting some of the worst environmental records in Congress.  Since its inception in 1996, more than half of the candidates named to the “Dirty Dozen” have subsequently been voted out of office.


To learn more about the Dirty Dozen and to view the LCV’s National Environmental Scorecard, visit

-          30 –



Paid for by League of Conservation Voters Action Fund, 202-785-8683 and not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.





Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software