Join Our Campaign


LCVAF Names Rep. Dan Boren to 2006 "Dirty Dozen" List

Contact: Kristin Lee or Chuck Porcari, (202) 785-8683 or September 21, 2006  

WASHINGTON, DC – The League of Conservation Voters (LCV), the independent political voice for the environment, today named Representative Dan Boren of Oklahoma to its 2006 “Dirty Dozen” list. 

“Instead of voting to help this country create a new energy future, Representative Dan Boren voted to set American energy policy on a backwards track.  He has opposed real solutions to our energy challenges such as requiring new cars to go further on a gallon of gas, while instead supporting measures that pad Big Oil companies’ profits.  Rep. Boren’s dismal voting record on issues of environmental importance has earned him a dubious honor: a spot on LCV’s 2006 Dirty Dozen list,” LCV President Gene Karpinski said.


In his first year in Congress,  Rep. Boren received an LCV score of 28%.  This year, he has voted against the environment on every key vote.  Rep. Boren voted for the 2005 energy bill – one of the worst pieces of anti-environmental legislation in decades – which gave billions of dollars in tax subsidies to oil and gas companies already making record profits.  He also voted against common sense measures such as requiring new cars to go further on a gallon of gas, and  voted to let makers of the toxic gasoline additive MTBE off the hook from cleaning up their messes, despite the health risk MTBE poses to communities across the nation.  He also voted against the public’s right to know about toxics released into their communities. 


In addition to Rep. Boren, LCV today also added the following members to the Dirty Dozen: Senator George Allen (VA), Rep. Deborah Pryce (OH) and Rep. J.D. Hayworth (AZ). 


Having already selected the first 10 members of the group, including one selected in LCV’s first-ever online poll for the “Dirty Dozen,” the newest members join Senators Conrad Burns (MT), Rick Santorum (PA), Jim Talent (MO), and Representatives Henry Cuellar (TX), Katherine Harris (FL), Richard Pombo (CA), Charles Taylor (NC) and Heather Wilson (NM) on the 2006 Dirty Dozen list.  Representatives Tom Delay (TX) and Bob Ney (OH) were placed in a separate category following their respective decisions not to seek re-election.


Over the last decade, LCV’s “Dirty Dozen” list has held elected officials accountable for their votes and actions by highlighting some of the worst environmental records in Congress.  Since its inception in 1996, more than half of the candidates named to the “Dirty Dozen” have subsequently been voted out of office.


To learn more about the Dirty Dozen and to view the LCV’s National Environmental Scorecard, visit

-          30 –



Paid for by League of Conservation Voters Action Fund, 202-785-8683 and not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.



The nonprofit League of Conservation Voters (LCV) is the political voice of the national environmental and conservation community. LCV, which is not a partisan organization, is the only national organization working full-time to advocate for sound environmental policies and to elect pro-environmental candidates who will adopt and implement such policies.  For more information, please visit us on the web at


Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software