Join Our Campaign


LCVAF Names Rep. Deborah Pryce to 2006 "Dirty Dozen" List

Contact: Kristin Lee or Chuck Porcari, (202) 785-8683 or September 21, 2006  

WASHINGTON, DC – The League of Conservation Voters (LCV), the independent political voice for the environment, today named Representative Deborah Pryce of Ohio to its 2006 “Dirty Dozen” list. 


“As Chair of the House Republican Conference, Representative Deborah Pryce has had a clear opportunity to help America find meaningful solutions to its energy challenges.  Instead of working to create a clean energy future for this country, Rep. Pryce chose to be part of the problem. She has consistently sided with Big Oil interests over the best interests of her constituents.  Like her colleague Rep. Tom Delay,  Rep. Pryce’s record of dismal votes on environmental and energy policy solutions has earned her a spot on the Dirty Dozen,” LCV President Gene Karpinski said.


Rep. Pryce, whose lifetime LCV score is 16%, voted to give substantial tax breaks to oil companies that are already making record breaking profits.  Rep. Pryce has opposed common sense solutions to America’s energy problems, such as requiring new cars to go further on a gallon of gas. 


“Buckeye State voters need to know about Rep. Pryce’s votes in Congress, like her vote in favor of the Central American Free Trade Agreement, to help them decide for themselves how to cast their own vote in November,” Karpinski said.


In addition to Rep. Pryce, LCV also added the following members to the Dirty Dozen today: Senator George Allen (VA), Rep. Dan Boren (OK) and Rep. Hayworth (AZ).


Having already selected the first 10 members of the group, including one selected in LCV’s first-ever online poll for the “Dirty Dozen,” the newest members join Senators Conrad Burns (MT), Rick Santorum (PA), Jim Talent (MO), and Representatives Henry Cuellar (TX), Katherine Harris (FL), Richard Pombo (CA), Charles Taylor (NC) and Heather Wilson (NM) on the 2006 Dirty Dozen list.  Representatives Tom Delay (TX) and Bob Ney (OH) were placed in a separate category following their respective decisions not to seek re-election.


Over the last decade, LCV’s “Dirty Dozen” list has held elected officials accountable for their votes and actions by highlighting some of the worst environmental records in Congress.  Since its inception in 1996, more than half of the candidates named to the “Dirty Dozen” have subsequently been voted out of office.


To learn more about the Dirty Dozen and to view the LCV’s National Environmental Scorecard, visit

– 30 –



Paid for by League of Conservation Voters Action Fund, 202-785-8683 and not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.





Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software