Join Our Campaign


LCVAF Announces Next Four Members of 2006 "Dirty Dozen"

Contact: Kristin Lee or Chuck Porcari, (202) 785-8683 or September 21, 2006  

WASHINGTON, D.C. – As Americans continue to wait for cost-effective energy alternatives while some members of Congress take campaign contributions from Big Oil, the League of Conservation Voters (LCV) today unveiled the next four members of its 2006 “Dirty Dozen” list.


LCV today added the following members to the Dirty Dozen: Senator George Allen (VA) and Representatives Dan Boren (OK), J.D. Hayworth (AZ) and Deborah Pryce (OH).  


“The ‘Dirty Dozen’ list sheds light on members of Congress who have stood with Big Oil and against the interests of those they are elected to represent,” LCV President Gene Karpinski said. “Included in this group are members with some of the most anti-environmental records in Congress.  Each voted to give billions in taxpayer dollars to oil companies, while voting against common sense energy solutions to help our country create a clean energy future.”


The newest members join the previously named Senators Conrad Burns (MT), Rick Santorum (PA), Jim Talent (MO) and Representatives Henry Cuellar (TX), Katherine Harris (FL), Richard Pombo (CA), Charles Taylor (NC), Heather Wilson (NM) on the 2006 “Dirty Dozen.”  Representatives Tom Delay (TX) and Bob Ney (OH) were put in a separate category following their respective decisions not to seek re-election.


Karpinski said, “Since LCV founded the Dirty Dozen list, over half of those selected to the Dirty Dozen have subsequently been voted out of office.  LCV is proud of its record in defeating Dirty Dozen members, and we plan to build upon our track record this fall.”


To learn more about the Dirty Dozen members and to see how your member of Congress has voted on energy and environmental issues, visit



- 30 –


Paid for by League of Conservation Voters Action Fund, 202-785-8683 and not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.






Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software