Press Releases

LCV Congratulates Reps. Spanberger, McEachin, Beyer, Wexton, and Connolly

Nov 9, 2022

Nick Abraham,, 206-833-7021

Washington, D.C. – The League of Conservation Voters (LCV) congratulates Representatives Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), Donald McEachin (VA-04), Don Beyer (VA-08), Jennifer Wexton (VA-10), and Gerry Connolly (VA-11) on their wins in Virginia. 

“Virginia continues to be a bellwether for the political winds across the country and voters spoke loud and clear that they want leaders who will fight for climate action,” said LCV President Gene Karpinski. “These leaders all voted for the largest climate and clean energy package in American history. They delivered for Virginians and voters rewarded them for it.”

LCV Victory Fund invested nearly $400,000 in the VA-07 race including $140,000 as part of the Climate Voters Mobilization campaign and a negative ad, “Makes Me Sick”, with EDF Action Votes.

LCV’s GreenRoots member mobilization program turned out LCV members to volunteer for the McEachin, and Spanberger campaigns as part of a nationwide field program to help elect environmental champions that engaged 8,250 total LCV members. 

Environmental donors contributed $3.3 million to Virginia candidates via GiveGreen. GiveGreen — a partnership between LCV Victory Fund and NRDC Action Votes that helps grassroots donors directly contribute to pro-environment candidates — raised a midterm record $26.9 million for the 2022 cycle.

These are just some of the climate champions who won up and down the ballot in Virginia, demonstrating that leaning into environmental issues is both good policy and good politics.

# # #