Press Releases

LCV Congratulates Speaker Pelosi and all Environmental Champions Elected to Lead the 117th Congress

Nov 18, 2020

Contact: Emily Samsel,, 828-713-9647

Washington, D.C. — In response to House Democrats’ election of Speaker Pelosi and her leadership team for the 117th Congress, the League of Conservation Voters (LCV) issued the following statement from Senior Vice President of Government Affairs Tiernan Sittenfeld:

“Congratulations to the most pro-environment Speaker of the House in history, Nancy Pelosi, and the entire leadership team of environmental champions for the 117th Congress: Majority Leader Steny Hoyer, Majority Whip Jim Clyburn, Assistant Speaker Katherine Clark and Democratic Caucus Chair Hakeem Jeffries. We’re so pleased with the addition of Rep. Clark, a member of the Safe Climate Caucus, the Sustainable Energy & Environment Coalition (SEEC), and the Congressional Progressive Caucus, to the leadership team as Assistant Speaker, filling the role of longtime environmental champion Senator-elect Ben Ray Luján. Speaker Pelosi and her leadership team have prioritized climate action, fought for our democracy, and stood up for our health and safety in this Congress, and we are confident this team of climate and environmental justice champions will continue to fight for major progress next year and beyond. 

“We look forward to working with the pro-environment led House, allies in the Senate and President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris to reverse the damage done by the Trump administration and get to work right away on climate action that creates a cleaner, more equitable and just future for all communities.”

# # #