Environmental Community Statement: “Count Every Vote”

Emily Samsel, LCV, emily_samsel@lcv.org | Denis Dison, NRDC Action Fund, ddison@nrdc.org | Benjamin Gerdes, Tom Steyer, benjamin.gerdes@tomsteyer.com | Garrett Blad, Sunrise Movement, garrett@sunrisemovement.org | Adam Beitman, Sierra Club, adam.beitman@sierraclub.org | Hannah Blatt, EDF Action, hblatt@edfaction.org | Mark Morgenstein, Environment America, mmorgenstein@publicinterestnetwork.org

Statement from LCV, Chispa Arizona, NRDC Action Fund, NextGen America, Sunrise Movement, Sierra Club, EDF Action, and Environment America

Washington, D.C. — As votes continue to be counted in the 2020 elections, LCV, Chispa Arizona, NRDC Action Fund, NextGen America, Sunrise Movement, Sierra Club, EDF Action, and Environment America issued the following joint statement:

“We can’t have a healthy environment without a healthy democracy and on the day that Donald Trump has officially withdrawn the United States from the Paris climate accord, it could not be more important to ensure that every eligible voter has their voice heard and vote counted in this election.

“The outcome of this election is up to the voters, no one else. Voters — the majority of whom want to see bold, ambitious action on climate —  turned out in record numbers across race, place of origin, and zip code to stand with and for each other. Voters overwhelmingly chose Joe Biden and he has received more votes than any presidential candidate in history. Voters did their job. Now it’s time to let local election officials do theirs — count every vote.”

# # #

Election:

Related Articles