Press Releases

LCV Congratulates Maxwell Frost, Kathy Castor, Endorsed Florida Candidates

Nov 9, 2022

Kyra Madunich-Arevalo,, 909-767-9743

Washington, D.C. – The League of Conservation Voters (LCV) congratulates Representatives Darren Soto (FL-09), Kathy Castor (FL-14), and Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-25), and House candidates Maxwell Frost (FL-10), Jared Moskowitz (FL-23) on their victories in Florida tonight.

“Tonight voters in Florida made history: Maxwell Frost will be the first Gen-Z member of Congress and the first Afro-Cuban member of Congress, and the re-election of Climate Crisis Committee Chair Kathy Castor proves that voters want leaders who will protect our environment,” said LCV President Gene Karpinski. “LCV is thrilled to partner with Chair Kathy Castor and all of these climate champions to work to ensure a healthy environment and safe democracy  for all Florida communities.”

Environmental donors contributed nearly $300,000 to Florida candidates via GiveGreen. GiveGreen — a partnership between LCV Victory Fund and NRDC Action Votes that helps grassroots donors directly contribute to pro-environment candidates — raised a midterm record $26.9 million for the 2022 cycle.

These are just some of the climate champions who won up and down the ballot, demonstrating that leaning into environmental issues is both good policy and good politics.

# # #