Press Releases

LCV Statement on Naming of Members to House Select Committee on the Climate Crisis

Feb 7, 2019

Contact: Holly Burke, 202-454-4554,

Washington, D.C. — In response to the announcement of the members of the new House Select Committee on the Climate Crisis, the League of Conservation Voters released the following statement from Senior Vice President for Government Affairs Tiernan Sittenfeld:

“What a great day for climate action! We are thrilled that the new pro-environment majority in the U.S. House of Representatives is confronting the climate crisis head-on. With climate champions Kathy Castor, Suzanne Bonamici, Julia Brownley, Sean Casten, Jared Huffman, Mike Levin, Donald McEachin, Joe Neguse, and Ben Ray Luján leading  the charge, we are confident the Select Committee on the Climate Crisis will shine a badly-needed spotlight on the true costs of inaction and the solutions that will provide for cleaner, healthier communities in a more just and equitable way.

On the heels of the fourth hottest year on record, which included tragic extreme weather events here and across the globe, it’s clear that that the climate crisis is a problem of epic proportions. It requires an all hands on deck approach to advance critically-needed solutions, and we look forward to working with Speaker Pelosi, Chair Castor, the members of the Select Committee, all the committees of jurisdiction, and all willing members of Congress to do just that.”