Press Releases

LCV Statement on President-elect Joe Biden’s New Science Team to Lead the OSTP

Jan 15, 2021

Courtnee Connon, 727-744-4163,

Washington, D.C. – In response to President-elect Biden’s announcement of his science leadership team — including Dr. Eric Lander, Office of Science & Technology Policy (OSTP) Director-designate; Dr. Alondra Nelson, OSTP Deputy Director-designate; Dr. Frances H. Arnold and Dr. Maria Zuber, Co-Chairs of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology; Kei Koizumi, OSTP Chief of Staff; Narda Jones, OSTP Legislative Affairs Director; and Dr. Francis Collins, to continue as NIH Director — the League of Conservation Voters (LCV) released the following statement from Legislative Director and former EPA health scientist Matthew Davis:

“The immediate challenges facing our nation are undeniable, and we need the best minds helping to solve them with science and equity at the forefront. President-elect Biden’s new team of scientists will do just that and help set us on a path to tackle these immediate crises on day one.

“Biden’s commitment to both science and equity is on full display in elevating Dr. Lander to his Cabinet and selecting Dr. Nelson, an expert in social science, who we know will help prioritize justice and equity for low-income communities and communities of color being disproportionately impacted by the climate crisis and COVID-19. This team will help implement the President-elect’s agenda to lead the world to confront climate change — building resilient, healthy, and safe communities with economic opportunity for all.”