Press Releases

33 New Enviro Champs and Counting – LCV Congratulates Endorsed Candidates

Nov 14, 2022

Contact: Emily Samsel,, 828-713-9647

Washington, D.C. – As we await the final votes in more key races to be counted across the country, LCV congratulates LCV Action Fund-endorsed and state affiliate-endorsed candidates on their victories in the midterms. LCV Action Fund is proud to have helped elect at least 33 new members of Congress who we know will be leaders for climate and environmental justice and re-elect 90 more seasoned climate champions who delivered the landmark Inflation Reduction Act. Newly elected LCVAF-endorsed and state-affiliated candidates are featured in the 2022 LCV New Member Guide.

“From Florida to Washington, and everywhere in between, voters were proud to support environmental champions who stood up to vicious attacks from corporate special interests like Big Oil and campaigned on building a more just, equitable clean energy future,” said LCV Vice President of Political Affairs Craig Auster. “We can’t wait to get to work with this new diverse group of climate leaders and their seasoned pro-climate colleagues to continue to lower costs for families, address climate pollution, create more clean energy jobs, and advance environmental justice.”

In the 2021-2022 election cycle, LCV Action Fund endorsed candidates in 181 federal races across the nation. Of the candidates endorsed, 38% identify as candidates of color, 48% identify as women, and 6% identify as LGBTQ+ — many endorsed candidates are making history and will build a Congress more reflective of our country’s racial and gender diversity. As of Monday morning, 123 of LCV Action Fund-endorsed candidates have won their elections.

LCV congratulates all of the winning endorsees, including the following incoming class of environmental champions:

U.S. Senate:
John Fetterman (PA)
Peter Welch (VT)

U.S. House:
Andrea Salinas (OR-06)
Becca Balint (VT-AL)
Brittany Pettersen (CO-07)
Chris Deluzio (PA-17)
Dan Goldman (NY-10)
Delia Ramirez (IL-03)
Emilia Sykes (OH-13)
Eric Sorensen (IL-17)
Gabe Vasquez (NM-02)
Greg Casar (TX-35)
Greg Landsman (OH-01)
Hillary Scholten (MI-03)
Jared Moskowitz (FL-23)
Jeff Jackson (NC-14)
Jill Tokuda (HI-02)
Jonathan Jackson (IL-01)
Kevin Mullin (CA-15)
Marie Gluesenkamp Pėrez (WA-03)
Maxwell Frost (FL-10)
Morgan McGarvey (KY-03)
Nikki Budzinski (IL-13)
Pat Ryan (NY-18)
Robert Garcia (CA-42)
Seth Magaziner (RI-02)
Shri Thanedar (MI-13)
Sydney Kamlager (CA-37)
Summer Lee (PA-12)
Val Hoyle (OR-04)
Valerie Foushee (NC-04)
Wiley Nickel (NC-13)
Dr. Yadira Caraveo (CO-08)

As of today, there are still 6 races with potential new members on that ballot that are too close to call. Check out the League of Conservation Voters (LCV) 2022 New Member Guide for more information about these environmental champions.