Press Releases

LCV Victory Fund Congratulates Klobuchar, Smith, Craig & Phillips

Nov 7, 2018

Alyssa Roberts, 202-454-4573,

Washington D.C. – LCV Victory Fund congratulates Amy Klobuchar, Tina Smith, Angie Craig and Dean Phillips on their victories in Minnesota’s congressional races. LCV Victory Fund invested more than $830,000 supporting Craig and Phillips.

“We’re delighted that Minnesotans enthusiastically supported these clean energy leaders,” said Gene Karpinski, LCV President. “We look forward to working with this strong pro environment delegation to invest in our clean energy future and protect our public lands and waters for future generations.”

In the 2nd congressional district, LCV Victory Fund ran digital ads highlighting incumbent Jason Lewis’ ties to polluter special interests. Lewis was one of the first candidates named to the iconic Dirty Dozen because of his abysmal environmental voting record.

In the 3rd district, LCV Victory Fund ran a TV ad that called out incumbent Erik Paulsen’s votes with President Trump to gut limits on methane pollution and allow polluters to dump coal waste into our waterways.

LCV Victory Fund also named Klobuchar’s opponent, climate denier Jim Newberger, to the infamous Dirty Dozen because he has repeatedly refused to accept the scientific reality of climate change and its impact on Minnesota families.

LCV’s GreenRoots member mobilization program also turned out voters for Klobuchar, Smith and Phillips as part of a nationwide field program that engaged nearly 1,500 volunteers.

Environmental donors contributed more than $500,000 to Minnesota candidates, including over $175,000 to Smith’s campaign, via GiveGreen. GiveGreen — a partnership between LCV Victory Fund, NextGen America and the NRDC Action Fund PAC that helps grassroots donors directly contribute to pro-environment candidates — raised a record $21 million for the 2018 cycle.

LCV Action Fund endorsed Klobuchar, Smith, Craig and Phillips because of their commitments to fighting the climate crisis and investing in Minnesota’s clean energy economy. LCV Action Fund also endorsed Dan Feehan, Ilhan Omar, and Joe Radinovich.



Paid for by LCV Victory Fund,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee.